612th Quartermaster Graves Registration Company

-Unit History-


But I must explain to you how all this mistaken idea of denouncing pleasure and praising pain was born and I will give you a complete account of the system, and expound the actual teachings of the great explorer of the truth, the master-builder of human happiness. No one rejects, dislikes, or avoids pleasure itself, because it is pleasure, but because those who do not know how to pursue pleasure rationally encounter consequences that are extremely painful. Nor again is there anyone who loves or pursues or desires to obtain pain of itself, because it is pain, but because occasionally circumstances occur in which toil and pain can procure him some great pleasure. To take a trivial example, which of us ever undertakes laborious physical exercise, except to obtain some advantage from it? But who has any right to find fault with a man who chooses to enjoy a pleasure that has no annoying consequences, or one who avoids a pain that produces no resultant pleasure?

Operational map of the 612th QM Gr. Reg. Company in the European Theater of Operations.


Enlisted Men:

John R. Adams (Massachusetts) Reid Grayson (Montana) George H. Pens (Colorado)
Winton Alexander (Alabama) Winston Greenwell (Utah) Walter E. Perry (Oregon)
Alvin C. Anderson (Iowa) John P. Halavonich (West Virginia) Thomas B. Piper (Michigan)
Alex A. Armenta (Mexico) Kenneth L. Hancock (Nebraska) John Pivaroff (California)
Lester Barber (New York) Arvin Hanson (Minnesota) Stanley J. Plichta (Michigan)
Robert L. Barrett (Indiana) Earl Harr (South Dakota) J. P. Posey (Texas)
John W. Baxley (Georgia) Howard G. Harris (New York) William C. Price (California)
Joseph H. Beauchene (Washington) Fernon R. Harrison (Texas) Leslie Proctor (Arkansas)
Walter Benet (Maryland) Frank W. Hart (Oregon) Ted Pruitt (California)
Russell F. Bertschinger (Michigan) Jonas C. Hartsell (North Carolina) George B. Quinn (California)
Edwin W. Bland (Ohio) Forrest W. Hayne Jr. (Ohio) William P. Raner (California)
Charles H. Block (California) Vicente G. Herrera (Arizona) Martin W. Reid (Missouri)
Ray Boots (Missouri) John F. Higgins (Illinois) Leon Rejman (Iowa)
John Brandt (Indiana) Wallace Hildreth (California) Paul J. Roberson (Virginia)
Walter L. Briggs (California) Clarence B. Hodge (North Dakota) George J. Roberts (Ohio)
Everett R. Bristow (California) William L. Hodge (Tennessee) Kenneth L. Robbinson (Iowa)
James D. Brusuelas (New Mexico) John Honstein (Oregon) Meade M. Robinson (Florida)
Joseph Bryant (North Carolina) William Huggins (Oregon) Alphonso Renteria (California)
John V. Burman (Minnesota) William Jackson (Oregon) Victor J. Richter (Texas)
John E. Burton (Texas) Harry Jeffries (New Jersey) Joe J. Rodewald (Missouri)
Richard Burwick (California) Kay Jew (California) Duane Rogers (Wisconsin)
Pablo Cabrera (Texas) Johnnie F. Johnson (Kentucky) Clarence Ruiter (Illinois)
James R. Calloway (Idaho) Herman C. Kammauff (Maryland) Richard Ruscigno (California)
Cohen Campbell (South Carolina) John E. Keane (Pennsylvania) Joe S. Saddoris (Texas)
Edward Campbell (Kentucky) John Knight (Montana) Joseph W. Santora (Massachusetts)
Robert E. Carr (California) Paul E. Kumigoski (North Carolina) Morris P. Savoy (Ohio)
Steve Cikel (Wisconsin) Joseph Labrecque (New York) Philip Schaff (California)
Clarence Clemens (Minnesota) Albert Leonetti (Ohio) Charles R. Schlossberg (West Virginia)
Cleston Climer (Washington) Cedell Lewis (Mississippi) Peter J. Schmitt (Minnesota)
Ralf E. Conrad (California) William C. Libby (Illinois) Richard G. Sequin (California)
Paul K. Cook (Illinois) William L. Lindt (Idaho) Marion Simpson (Texas)
Leslie Courter (Ohio) Joseph Longman (Minnesota) Binom H. Smith (Arkansas)
Walter Craker (Texas) Louis P. Lopresto (Mississippi) Americo E. Solazzi (Massachusetts)
Daniel L. Curatola (Pennsylvania) Keong Lowe (California) Douglas E. Spinks (Texas)
Joyce E. Curtin (California) Frank G. Lowenstein (New Jersey) Edward J. Spurlock ((West Virginia)
Riley Daugherty (Nevada) Irving J. Malbin (New York) Hubert W. Starns (Missouri)
Henry DeBrown (Illinois) Maurice Markowitz (New York) Leonard H. Stein (Oklahoma)
John DeNardo (Illinois) Edward A. Massey (Florida) Jennings E. Stiltner (Virginia)
John D. Donaldson (California) Setsuo Matsuo (Hawaii) Leo Stoll (Texas)
Thomas J. Dowling (California) Joseph P. Mattera (California) Robert R. Sunderland (California)
Edward Driscoll (Massachusetts) Setsuo Matsuo (Hawaii) James V. Surber (California)
Joseph Dudiak (Ohio) Joseph E. McCarthy (Canada) Ned C. Titus (Indiana)
Jerry Dwyer (California) Jack T. McClain (South Carolina) Howard Toevs (Idaho)
Alvin Engle (Kansas) Joseph C. Meagher (Oregon) Roberto E. Torres (California)
George Esgate (Oregon) Adrien E. Melancon (New Hampshire) Harvey T. Trippel (Illinois)
Robert Falls Down (Montana) Casimir Miedzwiecki (Pennsylvania) Wilmer Tuttle (Arkansas)
William A. Fisher (California) Delbert Mihulka (Nebraska) Donald W. Tyler (Washington)
Leo Fixler (Missouri) Steve Mikich (California) Fred J. Tyson (California)
Charles I. Flory (Pennsylvania) Winfred E. Mock (Montana) Foster B. Vary (Florida)
Fred Frazier (North Carolina) John A. Molinari (California) William R. Virchow (Massachusetts)
Joseph Frediani (California) Henry Moody (Alabama) Warren Walker (Indiana)
Everett H. Freese (Illinois) Hugh B. Mooney (Ohio) Harry A. Wallinder (Illinois)
Robert A. Fullerton (Oregon) Frank A. Myers (Iowa) Theodore E. Ward (California)
Santiago T. Galaz (New Mexico) Willie C. Nall (North Carolina) Edward R. Webb (Iowa)
Fred S. Garcia (California) Harry G. Natchke (South Dakota) Harvey W. Westfall (California)
George S. Garcia (Arizona) Joe A. Neal (Tennessee) Melvin J. Wignall (Nevada)
Rinaldo Garofoli (Pennsylvania) Robert A. Newbold (New York) Charles O. Whitaker (California)
Chester A. Garthwaite (Wisconsin) Lavern R. Nieman (Iowa) James D. White (West Virginia)
José F. Garza (Texas) Thomas C. O’Donnell (Michigan) Ross W. Wilkinson (Idaho)
Clifford L. Gauvain (Missouri) Joseph Okarma (Pennsylvania) Roger D. Williams (Washington)
Walter J. Gehringer (Pennsylvania) Casimiro Ortega (Texas) Russell A. Williams ((Virginia)
Vincent Goes Ahead (Montana) Reuben C. Ortiz (California) Theodore Woloszyn (Illinois)
Louis Good Luck (Montana) Phillip E. Parasko (New York) Alvin R. Wright (California)
Preston N. Grandel (Virginia) William C. Parker (Pennsylvania) Rocco F. Zaino (New York)
Oleton E. Gray (North Carolina) Stanford H. Pearlman (Illinois) Jacob J. Zinkevcz (Wisconsin)

This information was obtained from an orginal copy of “C’est La Guerre”, the official unit history of the 612th QM Gr. Reg Company. Without this book it was impossible to write this page.